98 The Beach

98 The Beach

Sunday, February 23, 2020

Bruce Power Has Role In New Environmental Collective

Tiverton | by Megan Johnson  

2020 Green Ribbon will focus on the role nuclear with other technologies in Canada's energy sector


A collection of environmental and economic leaders from across Canada have established the 2020 Green Ribbon Panel.

The Panel will focus on the role nuclear with other technologies that anchor Canada's energy sector can play in fighting climate change and growing the economy at home and abroad; while also evaluating successful and unsuccessful initiatives from around the world.

The Green Ribbon will also look into the phase-out of coal in Ontario and integrate new data on the impact of electrification and climate change and hydrogen; and develop public policy recommendations for all levels of government on real solutions to fight climate change.

Vice-President of Corporate Affairs and Operational Services at Bruce Power James Scongack is Chair of the panel.

Locally Scongack is joined by Bruce Wallace of the Nuclear Innovation Institute.

Other members include: Christopher Hilkene - Pollution Probe, Steve McCauley - Pollution Probe, Rocco Rossi - Ontario Chamber of Commerce, Ashley Challinor - Ontario Chamber of Commerce, Vanessa Foran - Asthma Canada, Dennis Darby - Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters, Mark Fisher - Council of the Great Lakes Region, Cara Clairman - Plug'nDrive.

The Panel will issue a report on its findings later this year.
Bruce Power's James Scongack says, "the 2020 Green Ribbon Panel has been created to mobilize business and civic leaders in the climate advocacy space to have a forum for sharing ideas, lessons and best practices, and ultimately produce a report with recommendations that can be delivered to government."

"Now that we sit in 2020, we only have a decade until 2030 and it's time to focus on what works, what doesn't and what we can agree on to grow the economy and fight climate change."

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc