98 The Beach

98 The Beach

Monday, June 3, 2019

MacLean MVP

Saugeen Shores | by Bayshore News Staff  

Winterhawk Awards Night

courtesy Saugeen Shores Winterhawks 

Winterhawks Banquet

The Saugeen Shores Winterhawks held the annual awards banquet on Friday night.

Miles MacLean took home two awards, capturing the Leading Scorer Award for the second-consecutive season, netting 29 points in 20 games.

MacLean was also named the Most Valuable Player of the Regular Season, while Jeff Flagler picked up MVP honours for the playoffs after an outstanding run in the Winterhawks net.

Other award winners included:

Community Service Award: Andy Mitchell
Jim Little Memorial Award (Rookie of the Year): Josh Deyell
Corry Solomway Memorial Award (Perseverance, Sportsmanship & Dedication to Hockey): Michael Johnstone
Best Defensive Player: Andy Fracz
Top Defenceman: Trevor Smith
Most Dedicated Winterhawk: Austin McLaren
Most Dedicated Player: James McHaig

Head Coach Matt Turcotte said it was a good learning experience for himself in his first season behind the Winterhawks bench, but made expectations known going forward.

"This year was a bit of a learning curve, but I think there's only one vision now, and that's to go to the dance and win it all," said Turcotte. "That's my only goal for next year, to win it all."

Winterhawks President Gord Lamont told the crowd there will surely be changes coming to the WOAA Sr. Hockey League.

He explained the current system of using residency to determine player eligibility is likely to be replaced by a system using a player's past hockey experience.

Though the proposal won't be voted on until the league AGM in late June, Lamont explained teams would only be allowed a certain number of players who played professionally, for example.

More details will be shared once the new format is made official.

The 2019/20 schedule and season ticket information will be released later this summer.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc